#TheTrashies: Challenging the media’s misinformed consensus

Media Diversified

by Maya Goodfellow

Last week I had one of those moments of self-doubt, the kind I imagine crash over writers who don’t fit into the media mould (read: white, middle or upper class, and usually male) all too often. One of my friends helped to nudge me onto firmer ground by sending me a famous James Baldwin quote as words of encouragement:

“The bottom line is: you write in order to change the world, knowing perfectly well that you probably can’t, but also knowing that literature is indispensable to the world.”

Baldwin (and my very wise friend who sent me Baldwin’s sage advice) was right; even when there’s a seeming consensus of opinion that’s tells you you’re wrong, you shouldn’t let yourself be silenced. Or, as Audre Lorde eloquently put it, “your silence will not protect you.”

Image produced by BBC Free speech Image produced by BBC Free speech

It’s this message that Media Diversified are…

View original post 546 more words

